The Small Blades Hurt wins the 2016 Poets’ Prize

The Poets’ Prize is awarded annually for the best book of verse published by a living American poet two years prior to the award year. The $3000 annual prize is donated by a committee of 20 American poets, who each nominate two books and also serve as judges.

Previous winners include Wendell Berry, Marilyn Hacker, Andrew Hudgins, and Ellen Bryan Voight, as well as Mary Jo Salter and David Yezzi, who both wrote blurbs for Blades.

Erica will receive the award at a ceremony on May 19 at the Nicholas Roerich Museum in NYC.